Gotta Get Away.

by jamesjohnson92

These past two weeks for me have been very crowded. By that I mean there have people absolutely everywhere. Ev-er-y-where. On walks, in cars, hotel rooms, living rooms, lunches and dinner – sometimes even in my own bed. I’ve been completely surrounded. No matter where I go, someone, somewhere needs me to do something, or just feels the need to talk at me. Even as I write this, I have a dog gnawing at my foot for attention and the gardeners have just starting mowing the lawn. On both sides of the house. (Note: No animals, feet or gardeners were harmed in the making of this blog post)

And it’s completely burned me out.

My appetite has been less, my overall mood has been lowered and my ability to put up with small talk has been almost non-existent. It’s safe to say my irritability setting has been set at ‘high’. There is nothing I want more in the world than to be alone right now.

As I pointed out in my power of personalities post, I’m a bit of an introvert. I like my own space, time to think and I thoroughly enjoy my own company at times. Sometimes, it’s really hard to find.

Thankfully, I’ve found a method of finding my own solace in a world that just wont stop. And it only takes me a few minutes, sat upright in a quiet room on my own. (No, not doing that, c’mon, my mum might read this.)

Meditation: My Ultimate 5 minute get away

Okay, don’t run away just yet.

In my time I’ve read a fair bit about spirituality, self-help and goal setting. Working with clients on a long term basis, I found it helped significantly to get the most out of people. One thing that a lot of things touched on is Meditation.

Initially this is always something I glanced over and never gave a second thought to. I used to think, ‘You’ve got two hopes of me sitting on a rock in someone’s garden wearing hammer pants and chanting ‘Ohm’ for an hour’. It was just a load of old tripe, right? Well I guess the fact it’s still around after a few thousand years should have given it some merit.

Meditation for those who aren’t too familiar is the art of sitting still, breathing and being alone with oneself. People use it for different aspects – aiding mental clarity, problem solving and just downright escaping the real world.

Now this isn’t a cure-all. It’s not been a magic fix, but it’s made my days far, far easier. It’s helped me escape some of the noise and be alone for a small period of time. There is no replacement for me to being alone, with a notebook and a little music. But I’ve found it useful, and I think it’s a worthwhile tool in everyone’s arsenal:

 

If you’ve had any experiences with meditation or have your own way of escaping, share it in the comments section below. I’d love to know how you manage with it.

 JJ

