Tomorrow never comes.

by jamesjohnson92

I’m what you could call a little bit of a planner. I like to be organized and have an idea of where I’m going, what I’m going and what my end product is. I set a goal, decide how I want to achieve it, and then go from there. Sometimes I’ll make a plan and never even follow up on it – like the time I planned to take over the Ice Cream Man industry for example. I must have made a million careers, travel, shopping and general life plans that I’ve never even got around to starting them.

That’s not because I don’t have the want to do them. I just instantly make another plan that tends to be better to achieve my goal. Or even worse, life happens, and I have to change my course. To me having a plan there is extremely comforting and somehow feel it gives even more creative freedom.

There are some plans I do follow up on though; starting this blog, going travelling, seeing the grand canyon, getting tickets to see my beloved San Diego Chargers and eating that Panda Express for lunch. (Note: if you’re the owner of Panda Express and you’re reading this, open one in England – now. Thanks.) When the goal is big enough, I start my plan and head on my route – knowing that without any world disaster happening, I’m going to get to where I need to be. Even if I need to adjust my course 3, 4 or 10 times to make it happen.

In our own way, we’re all planners. We all have that goal we’d like to achieve. Some of you will plan it out with military precision, a minute-by-minute process of how it’ll happen. Others will just let the cards be dealt and take it from there. We all have our own way of getting from point A to point B.

The problem with plans though, is starting them. We wait for what we think could be the best possible situation. ‘When I’ve got the money’, ‘When my work isn’t so busy’, ‘When I’ve got time’, ‘When the wind is blowing in a south easterly direction and I can hear 3 hummingbirds in the distance’. We have a tendency to start our plans later, in the future – tomorrow.

Tomorrow never comes.

There is no best possible time to achieve your goal. Life will very rarely go out of its way to give you the perfect opportunity. The clouds might not part and the sun most probably won’t shine at the right time. You might not have the perfect amount of money, the absolute perfect schedule.

If the goal is big enough and it’s something you want, wholeheartedly – start today. Right now. Put away your laptop or phone, stop reading this post and go outside and do it. Now. This second. Go!

Making the initial step out on any journey is the hardest to take, the scariest and the one with the least certainty. Every step after that is easier. Once you’re on the road, you’ll find all the things you thought you needed. The alignment of the stars, that $2000 savings backing, a 3 week sabbatical – whatever it was – you don’t need quite as much as you thought you did.

Save your tomorrows for doing the things you want to do once you’ve achieved your goal. Showing off your shiny, new, ripped body. Driving your new convertible. Indulging in the profit from your new business venture, or promotion. Spending more time with your kids – or seeing the world!

JJ

 

